You are here

Weirdest thing

Elizabeth's picture

Last weekend SD14 was cleaning her room. Given that it takes an act of God to get her to lift a finger around the house, I figured something we up. She kept bringing stuff downstairs and throwing it in the trash in the garage. Sure enough, she was throwing away clothes, stuffed animals, jewelry, etc. Stuff she didn't want to "bother" putting away. I went through a bunch of it and kept out stuff for our two BDs (4 and 1). They love it.

Husband came home that evening and asked what SD was doing. Turns out he told her to "Get ready to move." OK, even if she does go live with BM, my understanding was that it would not happen until the end of the school year. And since when does living with BM mean throwing out her clothes and other things?!

steppie1999's picture

Sounds like SD is pissed and is trying to make a point in a passive/aggressive sorta way Smile

Sasha's picture

I am a nurse and sometimes I will get a patient who refuses to eat. When I was a younger nurse I would try to use that "therapeutic communication" stuff they drilled into our heads and try to get them to eat. Then one day it hit me, just like a thunderbolt from the sky: they aren't hurting me one darn bit by refusing to eat. And that's what I tell them.

So tell SD that she is sorely mistaken if she thinks you will be hurt that she is throwing her own stuff away. Ain't no skin off your nose!

Elizabeth's picture

Maybe you're right. If she was expecting a scene, it backfired. I just waited until she wasn't around and pulled out the stuff I thought BDs would like. The stuff she threw away was mostly stuff her father gave her. Hmmm...

Most Evil's picture

They are right, she is only hurting herself, possibly to get attention/be a martyr, etc. I would just act bored and like you didn't even notice what she was doing.

If she is staying I would take the cost of those things out of her allowance!

"Fortune favors the brave" - Virgil