You are here

11 Year Old SD with Aspergers

astrea83's picture

Hi, I'm new to this site, stumbling across it made my day as I seriously need someone to rant to. My 11 Year old SD has been diagnosed with Aspergers this week. I work in the medical field and having been saying for a few years that I thought she had aspergers (her maternal aunt has it, as does her mother). I have recently stopped using birth control as we were about to start trying for a baby (which has been now put on hold). I do love my SD but she is increasingly hard to deal with and honestly I feel she has become a burden and is putting huge strain on my marriage.

My husband has shared custody with his ex which means SD is at our house quite often. As we both work in the medical field, we understand Aspergers and both have experience with it, but dealing with patients with Aspergers is a lot different from dealing with a child with Aspergers.

As I said SD is becoming a lot harder to deal with, her behavioural problems are out of control (just before I started writing this, we had to send her to her room after a meltdown). I find her behaviour harder to deal with then my husband as I am often the one looking after her. Like a lot of Aspergers kids she is not good with emotions and does not understand why she is being punished. At times I am tempted to join her rolling on the ground screaming because I am simply fed up.