You are here

Advice Please!

SoCalGal45's picture

This is my first time posting and hoping to get some insight.  I've been living in a blended family for 8 or so years.  Last year my teen stepdaughter decided that she was going to live with us.  Her moving in has put such a strain on my marriage to the point where my husband has dropped the "d" word.  She's not a bad kid, but she is incredibly spoiled, entitled and manipulative.  She's not expected to do any chores, while my kids are admonished if they  forget or show frustration when asked to do their chores.  She's completely taken over the house and complains if I or my kids annoy her in any way. Seriously , I could write a book about it.   I guess that's pretty typical teenage attitude but I feel like we are unwelcome guests in our own home.  Dad of course doesn't see my perspective on any of this.... because she's perfect.

Ive learned over time that I cannot win in this situation, and have since disengaged.  Disengagement has on one hand protected my sanity, but also negatively impacted my marriage.  Im exhausted, I'm tired of the house being run by a teenage girl, im tired of walking on eggshells and I'm tired of seeing my marriage being chipped away at.

The big issue that's causing me frustration and the reason I'm asking for help is her boyfriend.  He is rude to me but nice to her and everyone in the house. When I say rude, I mean that he doesn't acknowledge me, make eye contact, or anything. My suspicion is that she says unkind things about me to him... and her friends but that's another story. I've had many talks about this with my husband and make my opinion well know to him about this kid.  My husband got to the point where he told me to suck it up and be nice to him because he can't have dissent in the house.  I was hoping to get some insight on how to deal with this.