You are here

Are you sure we're talking about the same kids?

SAHsigh's picture

We have 50/50 custody of boy/girl twins, age 5. I've been in their lives since they were 2 1/2, I moved in with DH when they were 3. Seems like we're getting the better end of bargain, though. We are constantly being told horror stories about their (mostly SS) behavior when they are at BM's.

When they're here, they're usually pretty good. Considering that they're 5 and twins, I'd even venture to say that they are great! I have had a lot of experience with kids and these two range from 'normal' to 'excellent' on most days. The bad behavior that I've witnessed is pretty mundane: "He took my toy!" or "You're drawing on my picture!" You know, the sort of stuff that I expect to see from two 5 year olds. Often, it can be corrected by a short time-out and a hug. Fundamentally, they are great kids. Compared to the majority of my blended family friends, I've got it easy! They love me, I love them, we love DH, we are a happy home.

But when they're with BM, we hear about potty training regression, tantrums that go on for hours, violence toward the other sibling or self, never-ending crying fits, making a scene in public... It's a long list and BM always has a lot to say. The bad behavior will definitely spike and wane but generally speaking, they are much worse at BM's house.

Their behavior is even flipped like this when they're at daycare. They'll be good at daycare when they're with us, but the daycare teachers tell us that it's bad when they're with BM. A few months ago, SS punched another child in the face, pushed over a bookcase, and spit on another child at nap... all in the same day. Daycare knows which parent will pick the kids up just based on their behavior. DH and I once went out of town for a week and daycare asked us never again to leave. :O