You are here

Financially screwed.....

kellbaby920's picture

I really don't even know where to start! About 5 years ago I pulled my credit report to look into something. However, I did not expect to find what I found. I graduated high school in 2000 and my father and step-mother were taking charge of college expenses and applying for Financial Aid and Loans. I attended about 1 1/2 years of college before I moved out of state and took a break from school. Apparently when I pulled my report, I had school loans I did not even know that I had, which at this point were defaulted which also affected my credit. I called each loan company on my report and requested copies of my Promissory Notes only to find out that my step-mother had signed my name on a $7,000 Sallie Mae loan BEFORE I graduated high school and was still living with them. I spend a few weeks calling the 2 college I attended to verify that all that money was received by the school and unfortunately since it was 5 years ago they were unable to verify that, but could send me a break down of all the money going in and out of the school during the time I was enrolled. Some areas do not add up, but it's hard to verify at this point. I have confronted my father about this and he responded in the way I expected "we don't have the money to help", "you just have to discipline yourself", and "they keep calling me so you need to take care of them". It's getting frustrating. As of now, my loans have accrured so much interest that I owe over $50,000 and did not receive a degree. This has affected my credit so horribly and also can affect any future jobs or things I would need a loan. All I'm asking is he or my step-mother since it was her wrong-doing take responsbility for their actions on that loan alone. Is it fair that I need to pay that loan back?? I did however contact the Sallie Mae fraud hotline and because the school received the funds and I benefited, there is legally nothing they can do. This issue is also af