You are here

I'm New and want to say Hello and introduce myself

Grandma C's picture

Hello everyone, I'm Grandma C, I'm new to your sight and very happy to have discovered it.
I'm 59 years old, mother to a grown son, and step-mother to 4. I'm very blessed with 9 beautiful healthy grandkids.
My hubby was married twice before we joined our lives. The first wife has over the years been a pain in the behind. DH has two grown daughters 38, and 41.
Wife #2 is a good person who DH has two children by a son 27 and a daughter 28.
It's been interesting to say the least with the two wifes, each being entirely different and each with different expectations and demands from DH.
My relationship with the kids has changed over the years. At the beginning I had very little contact with the two older girls from the Ex#1 as she Dh told me was difficult and made issues causeing DH to have little to no contact with the children but expecting to have the benifits and child support until the girls reached the age of 21. To date we have a very wonderful relationship with SD#1 and her hubby and 4 children who I am blessed to be loved and respected, appreciated and called Grandma by.
As for SD#1 sister who is 28, I can say very little good about her. Over the years she has been very difficult, I was with DH nearly two years before I met her, even though she only lived 10 miles away. When she was to be married (the first time) she made contact with her fater so he could help pay for the wedding. Since then she has divorced. But still comes around seeking money, favors, etc. She has a daughter 4 years old from a baby daddy who is 11 years her junior. We see very little of her also unless we do favors, give money or what not.
Wife #2 two children are good kids and have offered little problems as adults.

I hope to find insight and ideas about how others deal with adult Children in step families.
Thanks for listening!!!

Grandma C's picture