You are here

Just looking for opinions

koyroy2018's picture

In 2019 I married my husband...I had 3 kids and he had 3 kids... I was just starting a career new career and he understood I was busy with that. Covid shut down the schools and suddenly I was left to watch his kids full time (every other week)... while he worked... and I worked from home. I never asked to do this and feel like it isn't fair on his part. I also feel like his mom expects me to do the same... every time I ask why doesn't he find a babysitter it causes conflict. I love the girls, but they are a handful, they NEVER stop talking, extremely gossipy, cry a lot, and spoiled. It's been 3 years and I STILL am primary caregiver and extremely tired. We have a new son, I work full time as a teacher, and feel like I never have a break. When I tell  my husband this  he says he's exhausted to. I literally go home after work, and take care of kids. It bothers me that I am full time caregiver to the girls because I feel like they need that from mom and dad. It's really annoying. I just want a break because I never asked to be his babysitter. 
Is it wrong for me to not want to babysit them when he working, he works shifts so sometimes this includes nights... when he is home the girls still ask me to do everything for them while he's outside working, they will even ask me for things when he standing right next to me. I feel like a nanny. It is SO annoying. He says he wants them to respect me but I feel like he wants me to do the parenting to make it easier for him. 
Am I wrong for feeling fed up? Can I get some advice? I don't want to divorce my husband, but I'd like some respect and not feel like his nanny. 

Kes's picture