You are here

Need Some Help and Advice

TheBeardedOne's picture

Hi, everyone

I'm new here and thought this would be a good place to get some advice or just vent and get things off my chest.
I'm also new to step-parenting. Well, I'm not officially a step dad, but I've been dating a woman for 2 years, she has 2 kids and we live together, so I just kind of assumed the role.
At first, things were fine, until I had to start being a parent. I have no kids of my own, so this is all new to me. I was raised a certain way, so I have a specific way of how I think things should be handled. I grew up with an abusive stepfather, so that's always sitting in the back of my mind because I don't want to be like him.
My GF's kids are 8 and 9, which seem to be very trying ages. The boy, 8, is the worst of the two. He's very disrespectful and throws tantrums when he doesn't get his own way. He doesn't listen to anyone..except apparently when he isn't at home. He does well in school and behaves when someone else is watching him, but at home he is a terror.
They all come from DV, so that doesn't help either. All 3 of them have a lot of baggage. Sometimes I wonder what I've gotten myself into. It's hard to bond with the boy because of his behavior. His mother doesn't help either. Everytime I try to discipline him she undermines me and tells me that's not the right way to do it because that's not how she does it. I feel like I have to walk on eggshells because they've been abused. Whenever I raise my voice, she gets mad at me. She won't let me spank him. All I can really do is ground them and even that she fights me on.
I'm trying my hardest here, but I feel like I'm at the end of my rope. I'm trying to help whip this kid into shape, but his mom fights me on everything. And then she forces me to bond with him. I feel bad because when the kid acts that way, I don't even like him.
I feel like I'm failing at this and not sure what else to do.
Can anybody help?

ltanya's picture