You are here

should i seek custody of stepkids?

elizabethxxx's picture

first i'd like to say i'm new to step-parenting (about 9-10 months in)... and parenting in general, no children of my own though we would like to have a couple in the future but i've gotten fairly adjusted to it and i love my stepkids! they are great kids, two boys age 4 and 6. they stay with us every other weekend. much less than we would like but we hope to change this. we make the most of our time. it is difficult for my husband as he wishes he could be more involved in how they are raised. he does not agree with many things his ex-wife does/teaches his kids, but less than a week per month is not a lot of time to teach values to the kids and reinforce them, as they will just be told the opposite when they go home.

anyways, here are some things going on that seem off color to me that i'm worried about - but i am new (really kind of clueless) to parenting, and i need another perspective.

1. the oldest gets upset VERY easily, and will get withdrawn yet overly agressive if something bothers him. (sulking for 30+ minutes, or more often getting red-faced, yelling, and hitting (for example, if his brother is playing with a toy that he wants or if he is served milk instead of soda) - of course this could just be what 6 year olds do

2. they are hungry EVERY time they come over, begging for food. i'm always shocked and like, of course you can have food! i now make a point to ask if they ate dinner/lunch, and the answer is always no. the 6 year old says things like "we went home but we didnt have time to eat anything cause we forgot" "mom said dad would buy us happy meals" "i ate an apple at school but didnt get any dinner" situations always seem to come up that prevents them from eating for 4, 5, 6, even 8 hours.