You are here

Should we have another child?

ElleP23's picture

Hi all! This is my first post, but I've been appreciating this site for a few months now. My husband and I are trying to decide if we should try for another child. It would be my second and his third. We are both on the fence. We have one son, turning 3 in few days, and my stepdaughter, age 10, who we have 50% of the time. I've helped raise her since she turned 3 years old. We get along pretty well. She's a bit more challenging than the average 10 year old in some ways--ADHD and Tourette's (not the shout profanity version)--, but is also very intelligent, caring, funny, and great with my son. She recently spent a day with my 3-month-old neice, and says she would love having a baby around everyday (when she overheard that we're thinking about having another kid). Any issues I have with my SD stem more from the bad taste in my mouth after BM treated me badly in beginning (and with convincing my DH to not be a Disney Dad--he's not anymore) than with my SD herself. Biomom doesn't help my SD much with social-emotional learning or other things (so I do find myself filling in gaps quite a bit; SD counts on me for this, but it's all easier these days). That said, BM is a decent mom for sure, so we can likely count on 50/50 custody for next 8 years. 

My DS3 is a a typical toddler--smart, fun, loves his mama. I work, and I like working, but I also have a background in education and like teaching/kids so am considering being stay at home mom for a short stint or working part time, if it feels like the right thing to do at some point. My husband has a very good job and is super helpful with housework (he used to cook more than me too). He helps with the kids almost as much as I do, but I'm more deeply involved with the kid stuff than he is, esp with my son.