You are here

Stepparents joining PTA/PTO?

CaliforniaSM's picture

How do you feel about step parents joining PTA/PTO? Today my SD5 had her kindergarten orientation, the PTO Stan was set up and I've always planned on joining when she started school as I would of my own kids. I worked as a classroom aid for 3 years and this is my first year as a stay at home wife. I'm one of the crazy involved SMs (yes, sometimes does back fire on me with bat shit uninvolved BM). Volunteering/fundraising all that crap for her school is just right up my alley and I'd like to be as involved in SD5 school/education as much as I can as I've always been since she was 3. Am I setting myself up for issues here? Am Ii within my rights to me a PTO SM?

CaliforniaSM's picture

DH is the non-custodial parent he has 40/60 custody but joint legal. DH is fully supportive and BM isn't joining or anything she's a party whore honestly that'd rather spend the 150$ to go to a bar. I'm not doing anything to be spiteful I'm doing this genuinely to support my SD and her school. Thanks for replies!

Jsmom's picture

Depends on whether the BM is involved at school. This backfired on me once with nasty emails about overstepping and ultimately neither of us volunteered.

If BM is involved, stay away...If not, go ahead.

steplife's picture