You are here

Advice for a new step mom please

newbie stepmom's picture

Hello, I'm new to this whole stepmother role...as is my partner, and his young adult children. Also, we have been clear to my husband'schildrenthat I am not a step mom, but their dad's girlfriend. I stumbled across this site and thought maybe some of you could offer some words of wisdom.  My partner and I just moved in together within the last 5 months. I have met his kids, ages 17, 18, 21, 24. The older two are fine, but younger two are having major issues about us. The first encounter was pleasant, they were delightful, respectful, chatty, a lovely day. then they went back home and refuse to come back. My partner got a call from his ex that he had ruined the children's lives and now they are in a state of depression and one is even suicidal.  How could he move in with " me" and how disrespectful and so soon ... ( here's were I mention that they have been separated for 4 plus years).  

I have read lots of posts about what a nightmare these relationships are, can be.   From your experiences, can you offer any positive suggestions to how to create a sustainable relationship with these kids... I know time helps heal... the oldest is mature enough to see that his dad is happy and has even told me that I am good for his dad. He also lives away from home and is not under the influence of his mom; the younger two are....without truly knowing, I suspect that the younger ones have been influenced by their angry, bitter mom.  I would truly appreciate any guidance so that I can not only help my partner and his kids, but myself as well.  This is stressful for me and although I try to downplay how it affects me, it is causing me a great deal of distress and anxiety. Help????

Thanks, Newbie

Winterglow's picture

Your SO should have told his ex to grow up and then cut the call short. Your life together is nobody's business but your own. A divorce doesn't condemn anyone to life long celibacy.