You are here

Being pushed out of family by step son and daughter in law

amr78's picture

I am new to this so please bare with me. I have never posted on any kind of chat rooms but I really need some advice. I am a mom to 2 daughters ages 19 & 17 and I'm a step mom to 2 stepsons ages 27 & 20 and a step daughter age 17. I have been with my husband for 14 years we were married for 2 of those years now. We met when our kids were pretty young and we've always managed to co-parent with our exes without much trouble. We have done that over the years by letting the biological parent discipline the child and we have managed to keep things pretty well balanced. There have really never been issues with any of our kids being disrespectful to me or my husband.  I was in no part the reason my husbands first marriage ended. They were separated and their divorce was finalized a few months before we met. His ex was the one that filed for and wanted the divorce. That however never stopped his ex from saying mean things to the kids about me all the years we have been together. They would come to our house every weekend and twice during the week and always make comments about what their mom said about me. They were too young to understand what was going on. It was all just immature things and I didn't let it get to me. My husband and I showed up together to school functions, etc. and his ex and I have always managed to tolerate each other for the kids sake. I just showed up and smiled but I never went out of my way to be extra nice to her because I knew she was deliberately saying those things to the kids so they would say them to me and their dad. It was her way of hurting me. I'm always uncomfortable when I go to family functions and she is there but I just keep that smile on my face and power through it. The problem began when my stepson and his wife had their first child. My stepsons wife did not like her new mother in law for the first year. So my husband and I were always calle