You are here

New Stepmother to Adult Children But Also Not a Biological Mom

BeautifulBird's picture

Everything regarding being a stepmother ito adults is new to me!  (Less than two years.). I’m feeling that it may have been “easier” if I had helped to raise these adults (SS 31 SD 29) and had time to truly develop great relationships with them.  I feel that it may have possibly given me a little more strength in whatever ideas and advice or help I could offer.  I know with young stepchildren come different challenges.  I am a teacher and understand child development well and while I am sadly not a biological mother myself, but I feel I have a lot to offer and to give and can be very  loving, caring and helpful.  I know that I will sadly never experience the same kind of bond that will come from having my own children, but I have been making every effort to not only show love and friendship to my SS and SD, but to my two small step grandchildren.  I am learning a great deal, but sometimes  I do feel like the “outsider” or “other woman.”   I am given some respect, and both my SS and SD are usually very nice to me.  However, I sometimes feel it is on such a surface level and because of their father; not so much because of ME.  I don’t feel that I am given much time to develop relationships with them that could be even stronger.  My SS is much more willing than my SD.  My SD has two very small children and I realize she is busy.  Sooooooo many questions, but I also notice things that just bother me!  I am so happy for my SD and her growing family, but I see her using her children as leverage or excuses for things.  She knows DH has a huge soft spot (rightfully so), but I feel she knows this at times to get what she wants.  On the other hand, there is the SS who truly needs a great deal of support in many areas. (Everyone is in agreement on this.). I know I have been helpful already, but because I am not the biological parent, my advice and help is only allowed to go s