You are here

Wanting child of my own

notsurewhatiwant's picture

Hi everyone! I have been lurking on this site for years but this is my first time to post. I am married and have 3 stepkids. They live with us full time and we have a crazy BM who fortunately for us and them, is never around. When I was dating my (now husband), I knew he had kids but they did not live with him at the time. I had brought up early on in our relationship if he was still willing to have more kids and he said he was (if that's what I wanted, which I didn't at the time). Over the years, I have steadily always told him, friends, and family that I did not want kids (because at the time, I didn't think I did). Since I always said I didn't want kids, my husband told me later that he was happy as he wouldn't have to start the clock over again. My stepkids are great and we have a good relationship so I thought maybe that would be enough and that I got to bypass the hard "baby" years. But now recently, it dawned on me, I do want a child of my own. Someone I can be responsible for and make decisions on how they are raised (something I don't get the full right to do now with Stepkids). So now I feel stupid because I have always come off as "anti-kids" to my husband and family. I feel like he would not be willing to have children now, and if I play the "its not fair you have kids and I don't card" he will probably defend himself by saying that although he said early on in the relationship that he would be willing to have more, that since then I said I didn't want them and we got married under the assumption there would be no more children. Part of me wants to "forget" my birthcontrol and call it an accident. I just feel like he will not accept having more children and its not fair that he has his own and I help raise them but don't get any of the benefits. I figure that since I no longer lead a "kid free" lifestyle (due to his children moving in with us) that I might as well have my own. The one big