You are here

HELP! DH and I are not speaking and marriage is failing fast

denmatsg's picture

Hello fellow steps. This is my first time here. I am so exhausted and scared that my marriage is going to fail.Just got back from another visit with SD ans SS and as usual DH and i are fighting. (SKʻs live out of state) We have been married almost 2 years. I love him more than I ever thought was possible to love someone. BUT... we have issues around parenting. He has A 31 yo son from one marriage and a 17 yo daughter from another. I know he loves both children but he favors SD BIG TIME!!! SS has even said that he resented her growing up because he felt his dad only cared about her. And till this day when he sometimes refers to his children SS is an afterthought. THere have been times where Iʻve had to remind him he has TWO children. His response is always, "its different. SS is an adult. SD is still a kid" However SS would say it has always been this way ever since she was born. Over the years we have had many issues with SD behavior. There was lying, terrible grades, promiscuity, manipulations, legal issues, drugs and alcohol, school suspensions etc. She has improved a lot over the past year, but I believe its because she has a boyfriend that helps keep her out of trouble now. Back when these crazy behaviors were taking place I developed huge resentment because he didnʻt parent her. If she showed up to see us with hickeys on her neck and 17 missing asignments on athletic probabtion and a D average the first thing we would do is buy expensive tickets to take her to Disneyland and take her shopping for clothes and shoes. I have two boys who are with us full time and he has NO problems disciplining them. I am actually thankful for that. But at the same time when he practically rewarded her and placed her on a pedestal even if she clearly didnʻt deserve any reward i felt blatant unfairness. He would put her needs over my boys. On one vacation the boys went in the pool and we