You are here

New step mum role and struggling with it and the ex

KG7's picture

Hi there

I’ve found this site and I was hoping I could vent on here a bit and get some views/opinions/advice and other peoples experiences. 

I’ve never done this before either. 

I appreciate I may well get judged unpleasantly, I just hope you’re not too harsh on me as I am open to feedback and reflection. 

So here goes: I have 2 kids from a previous marriage - daughter 13 and son 18, my ex and I divorced years ago (about 7 years ago) and I met my current partner nearly 4 years ago who is also divorced several years ago with 2 kids - boy 6 and boy 10. 

We now live together, my daughter lives with us and my son lives with his dad and my partners boys live with their mum. 

Neither of us want any more kids either and we both work full time - I work Mon to Fri and he works mon to sat. 

We both have very different parenting styles - fine each to their own. Me and my ex keep things very flexible, he sees our daughter as and when they both want/can and I see my son as and when we both want/can. 

It works really well for us and has never been a problem, the kids have always been happy with it. They feel they have freedom with the relationships they both have with us and can make their own choices and me and my ex can also make our own choices. I don’t interfere with his life and tell him what to do and when to see the kids etc and he doesn’t do that to me either. We simply leave each other to it. 

However, my partner and his ex wife have a totally different set up which I struggle with at times. She schedules every thing to do with the boys - who they’re with, when they’re with them, what they’re doing when they’re there and how long they’re there for. 

It’s usually every other weekend they’re with us but she can change it when ever she wants.