You are here

Specific details of Disengaging

PinkSuperMom's picture
Forums: 

I am new to disengaging but definitely think it's for me. However, I would like specific examples. How far do I go? What is too far? My SO is raising his grandson, age 13. I have already raised my boys (22 & 18). Any advice and suggestions are welcome. A LOT!!!!

PinkSuperMom's picture

Tips and help on actually "lettin it go" also appreciated. That is hard for me. Health and happiness suffering.

tog redux's picture

So for me, the idea is that you are not this child's parent and have zero responsibility for him. Your SO should be the primary parent at all times. Any help you give is voluntary and not forced, through guilt or anything else. 

I never was a parent to my SS. I didn't cook for him or clean up after him (my DH is the cook in our house anyway). I occasionally transported him, helped with homework and watched him, but those occasions were rare and I chose to do it to help DH. 

I did not discipline him. I did let DH know if SS did something wrong so HE could discipline. Essentially, I was like a fun aunt, and not a parent. I was lucky though, my DH didn't want me to parent his son, and he was a good parent with boundaries and limits. 

Harry's picture

It's up to you for the extent you want to disengage.  One you are not the parent, you do no parent things, you are not the maid so you do no maid thing ect, No cooking, cleaning up, no babysitter for GS.  It's all up to your SO.  None of your money goes to GS in any way shape or form.  
No transportation for GS.  He GS is like a ship in the night. You say hello, good by. And talk to your GF.  Unfortunately this relationship is not going to work unless SO is ok with this. 

PinkSuperMom's picture