You are here

My Step Daughter is Manipulative!

TRALBB.NewMom's picture

My step daughter is 9, very creative, smart, talented, and highly manipulative. I've never met a child so bratty in my life and I've been a preschool teacher, high school teacher, and I have over 30 nieces and nephews! I've been surrounded by children! I know no two are the same, but I'm honestly losing my cool with her. I need help.

When I first knew her (age 6) she was ill behaved, had no manners, and would constantly snack but was a picky eater when it came to main meals. She refused to keep herself clean, brush her teeth, or her hair, and would be content wearing the same clothes for a week straight if we would let her! She would throw fits if she didn't get her way and my fiance was too used to giving in so she'd stop. She had a TV in her bedroom and refused to sleep in her own bed. She picks at her older brother to a point he snaps then my fiance would scold him but not her...

My fiance and I had a relaxed home but I'm getting fed up. It's been a constant fight with her to get her to do anything she doesn't want to do, and she manipulates him to a point that drives me crazy.

In our home none of the children have TV in their rooms,  TV time is a privilege they have to earn. The children must keep themselves up as well as their bedrooms and they are encouraged to clear their plates at meal times. We try to spend time bonding with brushing our teeth, making meals, hiking out property, gardening, tending the animals, and one-on-one time with them. 

My step daughter, of our 3 children, is the only child we have trouble with. She is somewhat better behaved now, but she still refuses to be hygienic, tries to sneak treats and snacks, is lazy and manipulative, and refuses to sleep alone. My fiance and I have to constantly hound her to behave, to listen, to mind her manners, and eat all her food.