You are here

New and in need

ChevyMama's picture

Hi! I'm new to this and desperately need some advice and/or insight. I am a SM to a 15 year old SD. My DH and I have been together 7 years, married less than one. I have been involved with SD for 5 years and we have had a great relationship, even from the start. I am very intuitive to her and am the one she confides in about most everything. Since October (45 days after the wedding) SD chose to move out of BMs and come live with us. We are strict but rewarding. I value structure, supervision and follow-through. SD "chose" this structure.

The problem is the BM. She has spoiled this child rotten. She does EVERYTHING for her, from taking off her shoes to running to the store at 11PM for cookies and bringing them to our house for her. Instead of appreciating the actions her BM does, she says she simply requests such things of her BM because she can and her BM will do it. WTF?! Herein lies the problem. ANY time she spends at her BMs this behavior comes home with her. I am at my wits end. My DH sees the BM as the problem as well, however, will NOT hold my SD accountable for her own actions, giving excuses such as "this is because of her mother." Although I agree the BM has paved the way for this behavior, the child is 15 and has been told on numerous occasions that our rules are THE rules in and out of our home but when she's with her mother (less than 10% of the time) she relentlessly conspires with her BM "not to tell Dad or SD" and continues her manipulations and bad behavior.

Furthermore her father is a workaholic. I am the main care-giver and disciplinarian. He has the joy of communicating with the BM, and that's pretty much it. I cook for SD, I clean for SD, I tutor SD, I transport SD, I comfort SD, and punish SD. I'm sick of having to deal with the adverse affects of SD after she's with BM.