You are here

Been a while

stepper47's picture

I used to post in here fairly regularly when our kids were younger and at home, but thankfully life has been pretty calm for a while.  Something happened last weekend that I have been churning over, and I have always found it helpful to get it out here and to get other people's take who may be in similar situations   

Anyway, DH and I have been married over 10 years.  I have a  BS and a SS who are both 24, they are good friends and we have a good relationship with both of them.   I also have a SD20, who has been the source of most of our stepfamily conflict due to her attitude and entitlement as a result of DH's indulgence out of fear and BM's influence out of control   Not that I am a psychologist.  The road with her as been very, very rocky, and she stopped coming here about 4 years ago.  She hasn't been around a lot since, there are periods where things seem ok and she is communicating with DH, periods where she is hateful, and periods that she ignores him for unknown reasons.  The last year or so has been the calmest - we have got together a few times, she is communicating for the most part, and seemed like maybe she is maturing a bit.   I was feeling hopeful that maybe we were on the road to mending and having a somewhat normal relationship, but this really baffles me...

Every year I try to plan something we can all do together, and SD normally participates. This year I made a plan months ago, and even reached out to SD directly to see if she was interested because I had to book ahead.  She and her boyfriend were, so I booked tickets at around 150 each.  DH has communicated with her about it off and on over the last couple month, and she was here for a cookout a couple weeks ago and she and I talked about it...confirmed the date and time.  All good.