You are here

I need some advice please.

ads_1978's picture

Hi there.

Im needing some advice please. I will do my best to give the short version of the story. My husband and I have been married for seven years. Throughout the entire marriage I was the one that did all of the co parenting with his ex. He works out of town and is gone most of the time. Two years ago he gain full custody of his two boys that are now 11 and 14. Their mother is apparently a drug addict and very abusive and Cps stepped in and took them. They have no contact with her and at the moment do not want any. 

I have been raising them full time for 2 years now. My husband left a year ago. He says he does not want to raise his children and wants me to. Im not sure what to do. I love them and I raise them as my own. The boys do know that we are no longer together and just assume he is working a lot and thats why they really do not see him as much as they should. 

At this point these two boys have two very dysfunctional parents that have screwed with them pretty bad. They have a long list of issues. What do I do? When I move in a few months do I take them with me or do I make their father step up? 

Thank you for your help

tog redux's picture

OMG, those poor kids. Sad

What do you want to do? Are you willing to raise them? If so, make sure you get legal custody and both parents pay you child support.  If not, then don't feel guilty - that's a huge thing to take on.

ads_1978's picture

Im ok with raising them. I have two girls of my own 22 and 18. My entire family is telling not to do it because of the issues as well as the issues that will come with having to deal with their toxic father. Im just very conflicted. 

tog redux's picture

What would happen to them if you don’t take them? Would he step up or would they go to another relative?

ads_1978's picture