You are here

New and need SERIOUS advice

blackcat13's picture

i am relatively new to all of this step-parent thing... I've been at it for 4 months and I feel like I am failing my g/f and our relationship.

I can NOT stand her child!!! He is 10 yrs old and the spawn of Satan. He lies constantly- if his lips are moving, a lie is coming out. He is failing in school, he gets into fights. He was expelled this year... need I go on? He talks back to her consistently. If she makes a statement, he argues with her. Anything that comes out of anyone's mouth, he has to make a comment about. It drives me up a wall. It's causing all sorts of problems in the relationship. I don't even want to be around him. He chews with his mouth open, I can't talk to my g/f at dinner because he always butts in the conversation. He's been grounded and had everything taken from him so the only way I can watch TV is to go into our room, shut the door and watch it. My big problem is that I am not allowed to do or say anything about his rudeness and disrespect. I am expected to sit there and take it... I am only allowed if he is rude or disrespectful to me, which he isn't because he knows I don't tolerate the crap- and I barely speak to him. Every single night I have to listen to my g/f scream at him because he isn't listening to her, or he's talking back. The crappy thing in all of this is: she is mad at me because I don't want to eat dinner with her anymore because of him, I don't want to sit in the common area, I don't want to be around this kid at all!!!! And she refuses to do anything PRODUCTIVE to curb the behavior. She thinks yelling and giving him cupcakes makes it all ok and it doesn't. When I make suggestions she listens and then promptly ignores them and goes right back to doing what she was doing. She just doesn't get it and I don't know how to make her get it...