You are here

Sole Custody

Psychgrad's picture

Looking for insight and advice, please! This is my first post. I'm a 32 year old graduate student finishing up a PhD in Clinical Psychology. I met my partner several years ago and we have been dating for two years; I officially moved in 6 months ago. He was very clear from the beginning that he had two children from a prior marriage, and BM is not in the picture very often (she is in and out of rehab for substance use issues and currently has supervised visitation at my partner's discretion... which she uses less than once a month because there are very few people available who can supervise her visits). I don't have any biological children and I don't know that I want any, although I'm not opposed to it. I actually work with children as a psychologist in training and really enjoy kids, generally.

My partner is a fantastic dad and his children (10 and 8yrs) are also pretty well behaved and I usually enjoy spending time with them. The problem is.... it's A LOT of time with them. Perhaps in part due to some past trauma and difficulty with their BM (being left home alone at a young age, police were involved several times, BM got a DUI with the kids in the car most recently, etc), they are VERY close to their dad and have a hard time with him separating himself from them to spend time with me. There's also very limited options for us to spend 1:1 time together, given that we have the kids in our home 100% of the time. Sometimes he has his parents babysit or has recently started getting a sitter so we can go to dinner and a movie, or something like that.