You are here

Still don’t feel like part of the family

Thorncrown4's picture

This is my first time posting. I’ve read some other posts here and I can relate to what I’ve read so far. I’m a stepfather, 50 and I’ve been married for 10 years now and I still don’t feel like I’m part of the family. More on that in a couple sentences. I’ve always wanted children of my own but my wife was 42 when we married and we tried having kids (went to a fertility clinic) but she was not able to. She had two daughters (5&13) and one son (14) when we met. We went through the honeymoon phase for a couple years and I did what I could to bond with each child (went to soccer games, music recitals, played games, tried to talk to each one). Unfortunately, it’s been 10 years and the children are still uncomfortable talking with me or being alone in the car with me while my wife runs in the store for a 10 minute errand. They are faithful to say hi to their mother when they get home but largely ignore me and on family vacations they chat amongst themselves and their mom but don’t really talk with me. I feel like I am a stranger on their vacation. Anyway, I still try to engage each child in conversation but if we are alone in the living room each child will quickly leave after my initiating conversation or if I enter the living room to watch TV.  I’ve discussed this issue with with my wife multiple times over the years to ask what is wrong with me that the kids aren’t comfortable with me, especially after tens years. My wife tells me “they probably sense that you want something from them”. I tell her that I do. I want to have a relationship with them. I must admit I’ve had desires for divorce many times over the years because I’ve always wanted to feel like a father but I don’t feel included in the family. I still want my own children or to adopt. I just feel this huge hole in my life because I’ve always wanted to be called dad instead of by my first name. The closest I came is when I became a