You are here

I can't stand my SD. Please help.

FuseIsShort's picture

So I've been acting father to my SD for around 8 years (she is 10) and have two children of my own with her mother (2 and 3, boys).

We have been in lockdown since March and because I lost my job and the mother still works full time I have been looking after all 3 by myself (the mother is staying at her mother's house because of the potential risk of covid).

At the start I had a very hard time with SD regarding general bad attitude, being horrible to her brothers, being selfish and lying constantly and I mean constantly.. It took me about a month but I stopped her behaviour as best I could but some things still continue.
She always lies to me about simple things eg. Washing her hands, brushing her teeth or why her brothers are crying (as soon as I leave the room she will annoy them or maybe even hurt them, although hurt them isn't too often) and claim she has done nothing wrong even though I KNOW she's lying.

After about 3 months of this I have just started to hate her.... It sounds harsh but I can't even look at her without my blood boiling.
She has told her mother that she feels unloved and that's why she does this and I'm now looked at as the bad person even though I have tried my best to be patient and nice but I can't force it anymore.

I'm sorry if this seems a bit uninformative I'm typing this on a phone and it's hard work.

I just want to explain that we were perfectly fine before this whole covid situation even though she has always been a bit annoying and attention seeking.

What can I do?

Kes's picture