You are here

Introduction and new baby!

kristiew's picture

Hi everyone! I'm new to this stepmom group. I've read lots of books on stepparenting - the smart stepmom, the smart stepfamily, blending by the book (bible)...but have some questions that don't seem to be answered. Quick summary - I'm 28 and married to have been married to my wonderful husband for 1 year and we are expecting a baby in August. I am full time step mom to his two twin sons and adopted 10 year old daughter. His ex is in the army and just got married.

My question is - when the baby is old enough, how do you introduce them to the ex's family? What do they call the ex and her family? The relationship with the ex isn't so great, and I don't necessarily want my child calling her parents papa and and hearing my stepkids call her mommy and the new baby saying it too. I didn't think about how confusing this might be for a baby to come into a home that has step-siblings with two mom's and different family. Any thoughts?

kristiew's picture

I want to be civil and nice, letting her parents see the baby when they come visit THEIR grandchildren, but like you said - they aren't family to the new baby. If the ex has her own children with her new husband, I would in no way want their baby calling me or my husband anything or my family anything!

purpledaisies's picture

No way would I let any of my dh's ex and family near my kid! NO WAY! Your baby is nothing to her. Period! Keep your child away.

shielded2009's picture

Why does your child need to meet and be around them? That's strange to me...My DS has no clue who my SD's family is...It'll stay that way...

qtpie013178's picture