You are here

She is ruining my LIFE!

devinamaria's picture

I am not TECHNICALLY a step parent, but I live with my boyfriend who has custody of his son. His mother is driving me crazy. She does everything in her power to turn the kids against me. They have split custody, she has the daughter, he has the son. The reason for this, is she cannot handle her son. He is mentally disabled and because proper actions were not taken he is sorely underdeveloped and extremely undisciplined. He throws fits like a toddler only he is 13. He hits, bites, etc. At least he hits, bites etc her...me I laid the law the first time he raised his fist. Now, he doesn't try me.

Now as for the life ruining...she turns her children against me. At least she tries. They both love me very much and I love them more. Their father works nights, so they are with me quite a bit. I make sure they are fed, clean and have fun. Because, and I am assuming, her jealousy of me is so great she will purposely, make snide comments about me and my boyfriend. We actually had it out once when she said "You must have inherited a fortune from your mother. But, knowing you, you probably made sure of that" IN FRONT OF HER CHILDREN. I calmly asked them to go inside and told her exactly what I thought of her. I do not expect this woman to be my BFF but come on.

She also is now trying to sue for child support. Now we live in MS which is an income based state. He makes less than her. She is threatening all sorts of crazy things if he doesn't give in, I have tried to tell him they are hollow, she cannot do most of the things she threatens and the others would make her look crazy.