You are here

Newbie that needs some direction...

stepsontoes's picture

Hi everyone...
I'm a newbie and need some advice, encouragement or just a plain objective shoulder to cry on. I just don't even know where to begin because we have soooooooo many issues and my marriage is crumbling as a result.

A little history..DH and I have been married almost 4 yrs. My first, his 2nd. 4 months after we got married his 2 children suddenly came to live with us. The kids pretty much raised them selves to that point as BM was leading a double life without DH knowledge. Anyway, they didn't have much, had never been around an extended family - had never been on a family vacation.

Fast forward 4 yrs and SS18 and SD14 are spoiled brats! Instead of appreciating a nice house, vacations, cell phones and a loving family they are whining about not having enough. The more DH and I try to limit and curtail this, the worse it gets. Then ultimately DH caves. EVERY time! To top it off we have had typical teenage episodes (skipping school, lies, sneaking out, refusal to do the very few chores they do have, attitudes). So DH and I working through all this with restrictions and consequences when one day to the next SD14 annouces that she's talked to BM and she wants to move out because I'm mean!!! What?!?! Mean because I asked to put her own dishes in the dishwasher...mean because I asked her to take her laundry upstairs...mean because I asked her to remove her muddy shoes before entering the house...get the picture? Anyway, we have a "family" meeting clear the air and all is well, because I take SD shopping and don't ask her to do anything for a few weeks. Meanwhile SS moves out and then moves back just in time for vacation. (and that's a whole other story in itself!!)