You are here

Stepdaughter calling me "Momma" - Advice please!

ssoutherngurll's picture

Hi everyone! I am a new member and this is my first post! Smile

I married my husband and became a stepmom last August (8 months ago) - so I am still very new at this...

Quick background:

1. My stepdaughter is 5 1/2 years old.
2. My husband and I have no kids or our own - YET - but we are currently trying, so that could soon change.
3. We get my stepdaughter every 1st, 3rd and 5th weekend.
4. Her biological mother does not like me at all. She has told her daughter not to even speak my name in her house - I know this because that is what my stepdaughter told my husband and I - on her own free will... we NEVER question or pressure her for information regarding her mother. My stepdaughter has also told my husband and me things said about my husband, by the biological mom. So the relationship with the biological mother & my husband and I, may never be rainbows and butterflies, I am afraid. In fact, from day 1, it has been nothing but complication and confrontation from the biological mom on any and every issue regarding the divorce decree and child custody with my husband. However, we are fortunate enough, that I think, even though my stepdaughter is only 5 years old, she is already seeing through her mother's words.

My stepdaughter loves me to death and the feeling is very mutual... I truly enjoy having her in my life and love being a blended family. She has always called me by my first name - which I was COMPLETELY happy with and agreed with from the beginning. She tells me she loves me multiple times a day and loves to go places with me and loves helping me do anything!

Fast forward to this weekend - from the very first hour we picked her up, until the last day we had her, about 6 or 7 different times she told me, "You're my mommy!" or she told my husband, "I wish y'all were my 'real' mommy and daddy!"