You are here

Starting to disengage right NOW

Needalifeboat's picture

Hi everyone, new here and so glad to have found this forum. I was starting to think all my negative thoughts on skids/BM meant something was wrong with me. After reading here, I see I'm not alone at all. I'm still learning the abbreviations here...what is HC?

I think this disengaging method is going to be what keeps me sane. I can't take it anymore, the constant whining from his kids that he doesn't correct, him repeatedly giving in to BM because he won't stand up to her, the drama over visitation and scheduling issues (in which by me giving any input at all automatically makes me the bad guy). I'm done with it. So I'm stepping back. The only problem is that I still *feel* it inside, like I'm going to blow. Does that go away gradually? How do you get to the point where you can walk away from it and not feel angry and frustrated? If I won't have peace in my house for years to come, I need to find some peace within my own brain.

He tells me my situation is "abnormal" because my kids are cooperative and I co-parent with my ex with little drama. No, sorry, we're not abnormal. You're just doing it wrong!

savemysanity's picture

I'm right there with you. How old are your kids, and the SKs? How long have you and DH been together? It IS nice to know you're not alone. I swear, I was astonished to find out how many people go through the SAME EXACT things.

Needalifeboat's picture

I am seriously shocked! I actually found this forum because I was searching articles to help me deal with MY problem. Now I see that I'm justified in feeling this way, I'm not such a bad person after all! lol