You are here

MIL taking over and creating problems in my home...

overwhelmed_underappreciated's picture

Recently my MIL came to visit. She came down to our home while we had skids for visitation b/c BM does not allow her to see the kids at all. On this particular visit she came to help me out with the kids b/c I watch them during the day while their father works. He is military and I am a full-time student between semesters and currently 8 mo pregnant with my first child. Now, most of the time I have no problem taking care of my skids. They are 3 and 1 1/2 and I have been highly involved in their lives since the youngest was 3 mo. I had planned a trip to visit my own mother (who is incarcerated right now) out of state for the weekend and had to be there for her visitation on a friday (meaning I had to leave thursday) and my DH was unable to get leave for the day to take care of the kids. MIL offered to come help and spend some time with her grandkids. I was all for this despite the fact that everytime she comes to my home she takes over...rearranging my kitchen to her liking, doing my laundry (I should probably appreciate this more) and cleaning my house to her standards, rearranging the childrens room to her specifications, etc. Well, before I left I wrote a 2 page letter basically detailing the usual schedule for the children such as meal times, nap times, bed times, medication schedules (BM has 1 1/2 yo on anti-anxiety meds that we do not agree with but cannot just stop giving her) unacceptable behaviors that we are dealing with, etc. When I returned home at the end of my visit with my own mother I discovered that MIL had allowed the children to run wild and completely disregarded my instructions. Now I understand that she is their grandmother and some things I could deal with but she refused any type of discipline, had the kids up until 9:30 or 10 every night (their usual bedtime is Dirol completely disregarded their usual scheduled meals and nap times and th