You are here

CS modification after birth of new child??

overwhelmed_underappreciated's picture
Forums: 

DH and I are waiting for the arrival of our DD any day now... I was wondering if after she is born if we can get CS modified because of the new addition to our family and home?? She currently gets a little over 1/2 of his BAH (Basic Housing Allowance) and we live off of his paycheck only because I was a full-time student and too far along in my pregnancy to find a job over the summer... and I had his kids for almost 2 months and it was cheaper for me to care for them than to get daycare for them... So basically BM is getting $550 a month for 2 kids...

Also, we had them for almost 2 months during the summer. In the past BM has had us keep CS while Skids are with us to use the money for them (as it is intended). This past visitation she wanted us to continue to pay CS while supporting the 2 kids on the money that just DH and I usually survive on. She stated to me that she is entitled to continue to receive CS payments regardless of where the kids are or how long they are there. Not sure what the laws on all of this are because we are very new to this whole deal.

Now BM is a def GU so I know if we try to get CS lowered (can we?? I have no idea) then its gonna be a battle from hell... Does anyone know?? Would/Could it be worth it or would it be best to just let it lie?? I dont want my DD to go without just because she wants more money for herself but I wonder if it will be worth it in the end. Any advice?? Please help me out!!!!

Tmoore's picture

I dont know what state you are in so that makes a difference. my ex got a CS discount for my kid $138 cause he had another child he was paying for. My DD is entitled to 386 and we get 228 because he was paying for another kid. Best advice call CS enforcement and ask