You are here

Autistic SD8 Facetime calls.

Blended_Spectrum's picture

Hi, all this is my first attempt to write in a forum, so I dont really know all the lingo and acronyms so please bear with me.

So my SD8 lives in Florida while we're in CA and we don't see her very often bc my SO got the short end of the stick during his previous marriage. We try and video chat every weekend which was going well until recently, shes been distracted, and hanging up early. Every time we bring this up with his ex, she just tells us to ask SD8, because she thinks we have the same type of relationship with SD8.

I guess my question is: can we force her to at least stay on the phone for a certain period of time (30min)?

Thing is for the past year our FT conversations have been 45min+ where she is engaged with us. but the past few calls have been less than 10min, where her BM or her StepDad is talking to her.

The difference now is that the call is in the evening before bedtime and and she is no longer allowed to speak with us in her room.

twoviewpoints's picture

Why the change in time and place of the calls?

If BM is deliberately interfering with calls or making it difficult knowing the talk visit will fail, that could possibly violate CO. I assume Dad gets one 30-45min. call a week per the CO?

30 minutes is a long time. Would two 15 minute per week work better.

sadly, this is all worked out just between the two of them, the BM says that the mornings no longer work for them. Any other problem she just tells my DH to ask SD8 about it.

IMO it's because when SD8 was on vacation with us, she talked to BM at that same time. I know I'm biased (obvi) But BM acts like our relationship is the same as theirs, that we know everything about her since "we have access" to her records.

My DH would love to talk to her more, but he is also in the military where he is working 12hr shifts and the time difference just work against him during the week.

BethAnne's picture