You are here

Need help finding resources

Medicmom's picture

Hello to all! I found your site this afternoon and I can commiserate with so many step parents out there!! I'm a new sm with an 8yo sd who is awesome! I coudn't be luckier, my sd is the sweetest kid and we have a great relationship with one another. But every rose has its thorn and the thorn in my story is (as in many of yours) my husband's ex-wife.

I could bore you with stories of the b.s. she pulls but you've heard them all before (and it would only be for my own release!)

So here's my issue; I'm a paramedic by trade. I have a fair amount of knowledge with regards to mental disorders and behavioral problems. But she's got me stumped.

As I mentioned my sd is 8. My husband's former wife treats her like a 3 year old. She controls every aspect of her life and is trying to make a little clone of herself. A few weeks ago we found out that my sd was still sleeping in her crib-converted toddler bed and that she was too tall to lie end to end so was sleeping curled up. (She mentioned she was embarassed to have friends over b/c she still sleeps in "her baby crib" and we compared it to her little brother's crib in our house and she explained how it was set up for her.)

She still feeds her gerber graduate meals for diner (then she shows up at our house hungry.) My sd isn't allowed to shower and must take supervised baths.