You are here

Rant: SD8 failing math and doesn’t care!

Alapheria's picture

SD8 comes home and I check her backpack for anything that needs signed and I see a math worksheet that she made a 46% on... I ask her why did she make a 46 and she just shrugs. I'm like "really kid?" and her dad (over the phone) asks "really?" And she shrugs again and says "yeah really" with a "so what" attitude/tone. I was scared to make anything lower than a 70-75% because I wanted to make the best grades I possibly could so I can have a good education and graduate. Is today's generation that careless about their education/futures that failing doesn't phase them or is it just SD8 being her normal little crappy self?

Dogmom1321's picture

I'm a teacher. SD10 struggles immensely with school. She also is not motivated, has ADHD (unmedicated due to BM) and has very poor grades. BM refuses to take SD to tutoring. The list goes on. I used to be the ONLY one checking to see if assignments are complete, checking on her progress/report cards, etc. You know what? NOT our job. We can't care more than the bios or the SKs. They are not our problem to fix. We also can't instill the same values for education if their BMs counter it. 

Like I said, it's definitely hard to watch, but SKs education is not our responsibility. Try to focus on the things you CAN control and DO have influence over. Otherwise, you will drive yourself crazy. 

Rags's picture

If crappy performance is choice related it should be met with zero tolerance and a state of abject misery until it is learned that choices that impact performance are painful and performance improves to align with capability.  Tender consideration for their fee fees and self esteme is counter to the goal.